In the early 1900’s, Dr. Thomas Shumante and his wife sought out the beautiful natural scenery of Los Altos Hills to build their summer estate, and purchased over 400 acres of land in the Purissima Valley.
Many years later, when Dr. Shumante passed away, his widow began to sell the property in smaller parcels. In 1958, seventeen acres of the Shumante property was purchased by five local residents who wanted to create a neighborhood recreational facility that would become “Fremont Hills Country Club.”
At the time of purchase, the land housed a stables (which once housed the Shumante’s Arabian horses), a barn, and the “Martha Lynn Tank House” (circa 1906) which still stands today.
Lacking the funds to build a clubhouse, the developers gained revenue by making the stables fully operational. But then the developers set their sights on the more ambitious goal: build the first Olympic-size pool in Northern California.
While many questioned their decision to build an Olympic pool in the “middle of nowhere”, their efforts were well-rewarded in May of 1959 when the pool opened, and again, in July, when FHCC hosted the 1959 Outdoor National Swimming and Diving Championships, welcoming over 7500 guests from all over the world.
That same year, four tennis courts were added, and in 1962, the construction of the $200,000 clubhouse was complete. Since then, the Club has added six more tennis courts, two additional riding rings, a fitness center, restaurant, snack bar, playground, pool changing rooms, and a fully renovated Main Clubhouse.
Throughout its history, Fremont Hills Country Club has been a natural gathering place for members and their guests in the Los Altos Hills area. Whether it's the exclusive amenities with a country feel, the friendly and active membership, or the beautiful natural scenery, for the past fifty years, Fremont Hills Country Club has afforded its members a glimpse of a simple life of days gone by, and a quality recreational experience second to none.